

**מכון ון ליר בירושלים** THE VAN LEER JERUSALEM INSTITUTE معهد فان لير في القدس



האוניברסיטה העברית בירושלים THE HEBREW UNIVERSITY OF JERUSALEM

## **Approaches to Holiness**

Third Annual Conference – The Israeli Association for the Study of Religions In cooperation with

The Department of Comparative Religion, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem The Van Leer Jerusalem Institute

The Third Annual Conference of the Israeli Association for the Study of Religions (IASR) will focus on "Approaches to Holiness." The conference will convene under the auspices of the Department of Comparative Religion at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, in collaboration with the Van Leer Jerusalem Institute. Sessions will be held on April 8<sup>th</sup>–9<sup>th</sup> 2019 at the Mt. Scopus campus of the Hebrew University, and at the Van Leer Jerusalem Institute.

The theme of the conference is designed to cover two large areas of research: first, diverse religious traditions – ancient to contemporary – that reflect the notion or the experience of holiness, or competition for access to it. Second, elaborations on the issue in modern research that aim to provide a definition of the phenomenon in light of its multifaceted nature. The opening lecture will be delivered by Professor Ute Hüsken from Heidelberg University.

We invite all scholars wishing to participate in the conference to submit an abstract of their proposed paper to the following e-mail address: <u>israel.iasr.2015@gmail.com</u>. Abstracts should be submitted by November 30<sup>th</sup> and should not exceed 300 words. The Academic Committee will inform all applicants of its decisions by December 31<sup>st</sup>. Each speaker will be allotted 20 minutes, with an additional 10 minutes for discussion. Papers may be delivered in Hebrew or in English.

Please note that in order to present a paper at the conference, scholars must be members of the IASR at the time of the conference. To join the Association, follow the link: <u>https://iasr2015.wordpress.com</u>.

The Academic Committee: Irit Averbuch, Hanoch Ben-Pazi, Shai Feraro, Yochi Fischer, Ithamar Gruenwald, Adam Klin-Oron, Amos Megged, Naphtali Meshel, Serge Ruzer, Nurit Stadler